RMUoHP Foundation welcomes two new board members

by | Jun 13, 2022 | News

Contributing Author(s):

The Rocky Mountain University of Health Professions (RMUoHP) Foundation was founded in February of 2009 with the purpose and mission to “advance the quality and accessibility of healthcare.” To fulfill this mission, the foundation oversees a variety of projects and initiatives, including the Community Rehabilitation Clinic (CRC), the Center for Communication Disorders (CCD), research grants, and scholarships. These programs provide resources and services to assist RMUoHP faculty, students, and the local community. 

In 2021 alone, the Community Rehabilitation Clinic provided 5,986 patient treatments and contributed over one million dollars of financial benefit to patients and their local communities. The Center for Communication Disorders provides speech-language pathology services to treat both underserved and underinsured children and adults in the local community. 

The Foundation is governed by a board of directors consisting of an executive committee and additional board members. The Foundation welcomes two new board members: Fatima Bullock, ClinScD, CCC-SLP, and Janet Tankersley, PT, DPT, PhD, PCS.

Photo of Fatima Bullock

Bullock is a 2021 RMUoHP graduate and has worked in the field of speech-language pathology for over 20 years. Her area of expertise is working with the geriatric population in various settings, including acute rehab, outpatient care, nursing facilities, and home health. While working in healthcare, she has served on numerous quality assurance and improvement committees and is a strong patient advocate. She received her bachelor’s degree in speech-language pathology and audiology from Tennessee State University, her master’s degree in communicative sciences and disorders from Hampton University, and her doctorate in speech-language pathology from RMUoHP. Bullock currently resides in Indianapolis, Indiana, where she hopes to promote the RMUoHP Foundation’s mission by partnering with local hospitals, health networks, and schools.

Photo of Janet Tankersley

Tankersley is a proud alumna of RMUoHP’s Doctor of Philosophy (PhD) in Pediatric Science program. While a student in the PhD program at RMUoHP, she served as graduate student council representative and secretary for four years. She received the RMUoHP Foundation Pediatric Science Grant and the Richard P. Nielsen Student Service Award. Tankersley has 23 years of experience working in academia and has served on multiple committees including the Augusta University Health System Board and its Audit, Compliance, and Enterprise Risk Management Committee. She served as President of the Augusta University Health Professions Associates Board and Assistant Dean of Clinical Practice for AU’s College of Allied Health Sciences.  She received both her Associate of Science degree in Physical Therapist Assistant and Bachelor of Science degree in Physical Therapy from the Medical College of Georgia, and her Doctor of Physical Therapy degree from A.T. Still University of Health Sciences. Tankersley is dedicated to utilizing her skills and experience to further RMUoHP’s mission.

Other members of the Foundation Board of Directors include:

  • Vic Deauvono, Chair – Private Investor and Developer
  • Jeff Bate, MBA, Treasurer – Executive VP of Finance for Rocky Mountain University of Health Professions
  • Victor Morris, Secretary – RMU Foundation Senior Director
  • Richard P. Nielsen, DPT, DHSc, ECS
  • Mark Timothy Ross, PhD
  • Michael Skurja, Jr., DPT, ECS
  • Debra Wing, MSN, ED RN, SNE, Major, USAFR

For more information on the work and impact of the Rocky Mountain University of Health Professions Foundation, visit their website.