Occupational Therapy Faculty & Alumnus Honored With National Awards

by | Apr 27, 2023 | Blog, News

Contributing Author(s):

Each year, the American Occupational Therapy Association (AOTA) presents Roster of Fellows (ROF) awards to “occupational therapists who have made a significant contribution to the profession with a measured impact on consumers and/or members of the Association.” Among the 2023 Roster of Fellows were Bryan M. Gee, OTD,  PhD, OTR/L, BCP, CLA, Founding Director of RMU’s entry-level Doctor of Occupational Therapy (OTD) program and Founding Chair of the Department of Occupational Therapy and Kimberly Davis, OTD, MS, OTR/L, RMU adjunct instructor and RMU alumnus.

Dr. Bryan M. Gee

Bryan M. Gee, OTD,  PhD, OTR/L, BCP, CLA

Gee’s professional service, scholarship, and leadership in the field of occupational therapy has earned him respect and recognition from students, faculty, and colleagues within and outside the profession. Gee is a full professor at RMU and serves as Founding Director of RMU’s  Entry Level Doctor of Occupational Therapy (OTD) program and Founding Chair of the Department of Occupational Therapy.

Gee consistently contributes to professional development for OT practitioners through his work with Occupationaltherapy.com, Relias Education, and RMU’s Continuing Education Program. He has published 43 peer review research studies, three book chapters, and has presented at more than 93 regional, national, and international conferences. 

Gee’s notable service and leadership include appointments as an Associate Editor for the American Journal of Occupational Therapy, Assistant Editor for the Open Journal of Occupational Therapy, and an editorial board reviewer for 11 peer reviewed journals. Gee has led as a director or chair of several occupational therapy programs and/or departments to the end of increasing growth, visibility, and impact to their respective institutions and communities. 

“I am humbled and overwhelmed by this nomination,” Gee said. “ I am grateful to all the fantastic students, colleagues, collaborators, and mentors who supported my professional trajectory and the outcomes. I plan to continue supporting and advancing occupational therapy by exploring the scholarship of discovery, teaching and learning, and leadership positions at RMU and within AOTA and its affiliates. This is just the beginning.”

Dr. Kimberly Davis

Kimberly Davis (right), OTD, MS, OTR/L, receives AOTA Roster of Fellows Award

A 2005 RMU graduate, Kimberly Davis is an adjunct instructor for RMU’s Post Professional Doctor of Occupational Therapy (pOTD) program. Davis serves as a capstone mentor, facilitating students’ progress through the capstone courses and the final culminating capstone project. She also serves as an Associate Professor at Husson University School of Occupational Therapy and as President of the Maine Occupational Therapy Association (MEOTA)

Davis is a strong advocate for mental health, serving mental health populations in local prisons, the Bangor House, an independent living facility for low income and disabled senior citizens, and at the Bangor Area Homeless Shelter with her students.

“It is truly an honor to be recognized for this award. I am grateful to my mentors, colleagues, and students who challenged me to take on new roles and helped me shape my vision of leadership. I will continue to advance the profession through service and advocacy and through mentorship of students and professionals at local, state, and national levels. I look forward to further exploring additional scholarship opportunities to highlight the impact of service within our communities.”

With the constant demand and increasing need for healthcare services, the innovation, enhanced care practices, and extraordinary dedication demonstrated by professionals like Bryan Gee and Kimberly Davis provide assurance that healthcare is in good hands. For more information on the AOTA Roster of Fellows award, visit the award webpage.